Options

Total newbie, what should I look for in a generator?

It is my understanding that I will need a generator if I am at a place where there are no hook-ups if I want to run the A/C. I have only camped in tents, and haven't done that in years. So having just bought my t@g I have lots of questions.

Comments

• Options
    MichaelMichael Member Posts: 45

Welcome! Enjoy your stay! 😀

While you will probably get a few responses on this but what I bought is a Sportsman 2200 dual fuel generator. Was 449 I think from Walmart. Granted it's not a name like Honda but I like the fact that it will run off your propane tank. I don't ever plan on putting gasoline in it. I've only got about 10 hours on it so far but it has been fine. One thing with these small inverter generators, you want to break them in correctly. There are a few YouTube videos that talk about the best ways to to so. Lots of good people here that will share their experiences with you so ask away.....

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 636

Welcome @SueJ1959, ask away!

Sharon - Westlake, Ohio | 2017 TaB CSS - Forum Administrator

• Options
    SueJ1959SueJ1959 Member Posts: 9

Am I likely to need a generator to run a CPAP?

• Options

@SueJ1959, you need a generator to run the air conditioner, but keep in mind, most campgrounds have restrictions on when you can run it due to noise. You don’t need a generator to run CPAP. First, can your CPAP run off DC, AC, or both? If it only runs off AC, then you need an inverter to be able to use your battery power. Then you need to know how many amps you need over night to make sure your battery is big enough. So, you really need to know how you plan to camp, what are your power needs, and then figure out the best way to meet those needs. Depending on where you camp and what your needs are, you may be able to use a larger battery and a 100 amp solar suitcase instead of a generator. Just depends🙂

• Options