Newbie needs help w/hitch configuration for Subaru Outback

LTonLTon Member Posts: 2

I'm renting a 2020 Tag XL tomorrow to try before buying. Dealer said I need the distance from ground to top of hitch ball to be 21". My 2015 Outback had a dealer installed 1 1/4 receiver. I'm having problems finding a rise enough to meet the 21". I know folks tow with Outbacks and just wondering what their specific configuration is and where I can buy it. I've checked the towing sections in Lowe's and Home Depot and couldn't find what I thought would work. I'm a complete newbie at this so pardon my misuse of terms, etc. Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 622

I think the TaGs require a 2” ball and 2” receiver. Can anyone confirm this?

Sharon - Westlake, Ohio | 2017 TaB CSS - Forum Administrator

• evpeelingevpeeling Member Posts: 67
    edited August 2020

You could perhaps get a hitch adapter to go from the 1 1/4" hitch receiver to a 2" hitch receiver, and then you will have more options for a hitch riser. I use a 8" hitch riser with my Subaru Forester and it is almost perfectly level. But it is really important to note that if you use a 1 1/4" to 2" hitch adapter that it will reduce your hitch capacity by 50%. So if your tongue weight and trailer weight are still within that range then that is an option.

You do need a 2" ball for the Tag, but I don't know if you can put on a 2" ball on a ball mount for a 1 1/4" receiver.

I recommend calling customer service at etrailer.com and explaining your situation and what hitch rise you need. They are really great at finding the right product, and I learned a lot from talking with them about hitches and towing safely. They are awesome and will point you in the right direction.