Options

Newbie Solar Questions

Hey folks,

I hope everyone is doing well!

So I'm looking into adding some additional solar capability with my 2023 T@G XL BD, which has a stock 135 watt panel on the roof. The goal here is to be able to go three days using a BougeRV 30 quart cooler (24 hours a day), a 12V TV (maybe 2 hours a day), along with some cell phone charging.

I have two gel batteries totaling 230 amp hours that came with the rig.

I'm thinking adding a solar port and a 200 watt suitcase solar panel should do the trick, but I am a total noob here. I'm trying to avoid spending thousands by upgrading to lithium batteries, when it may not even be necessary.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    JamesDowJamesDow Member Posts: 632

I woud concure that using a 200 watt suitcase solar panel along with your existing 135 watt panel should do the trick.

Your planned usage is much like mine. I have lithium and 100 watt solar suitcase plus one other 60 watt panel. In my last test I went 10 days in thr desert.

Best of luck.

Below is some additional info I found on the web:

Charge a 200AH battery at no more than 30 Amps to avoid damaging it. Four 100-watt solar panels will charge a 200-amp-hour battery in five hours. Increase the number of solar panels to account for inclement weather.

This means you would need three 100 watt solar panels or one 300 watt panel to fully recharge your battery on the average day.

• Options
    GulfCoastGulfCoast Member Posts: 76