Solar Installation - 100w flexible and 100w portable suitcase

evpeelingevpeeling Member Posts: 69
edited October 2020 in Battery/Electrical & Solar

Hello all! I thought I would give a little walkthrough on my solar panel installation. Some things may seem obvious, but bear with me because I'm writing it for people who are complete newbies (like I was at the start)! I was intimated at first because I had absolutely no electrical experience, but I learned so many new skills with this mod.

Before starting the installation, I already had a 100W Renogy solar suitcase with the voyager charge controller. That worked just fine, but I wanted something permanent on the roof for when I was overnighting in parking lots, rest stops, etc. I never felt comfortable setting up a portable panel at those places where I was trying to be a little bit more incognito.

I set my system up so that I have a permanent 100W flexible panel on the roof, and if needed (for example I am parked under shade), I can plug my portable solar suitcase into the solar port on the tongue box for extra power. When plugged in, the solar suitcase is wired in parallel, which means I increase the amps and keep the voltage the same. Here is a link for more explanation on parallel vs series: https://www.renogy.com/learn-series-and-parallel/.

I linked a document with the parts I used.

Here are the steps I took:

Installed MC4 connectors on one end of marine wiring
How to install MC4 connectors -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGksTZpEGJI

Determined where I wanted to place the flexible panel, marked the outline in pencil, cleaned the surface well with 90% alcohol, and mounted the panel using double sided VHB tape. For the VHB tape to properly bond, the temperature has to be above 50 for three days.

https://youtu.be/-YLDf3wrJzk