EMS, portable, built in....

I must say, after spending $25,000 on our 2020 T@G XL Boondock Lite, it is disappointing to realize that we need to install a $400 EMS system just to protect our camper. Why wouldn't NuCamp include this in such an expensive setup? With that, I understand the pros and cons of portable vs built in. We would prefer to tie it into the system but are wondering if there are any good instructions. Some say to pay an electrician to do it. On the T@G, where is the best location for installation? We'd probably go with the Progressive Industries EMS-PT30X RV Surge Protector.

Comments

• rasras Member Posts: 173

Please define EMS for me. Surge protection on your shore power? or protection from EMR if you're exposed to an atomic bomb? I'm a retired electronic technician and I have no idea what you're talking about.

RV 2016 T@G 5W
    TV 2019 Outback or 2011 4Runner

• Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 622

@csonni - if you want the hard wired EMS you want the EMS-HW30X. Not sure where is best to locate it on the TaG, but there are multiple owners on the TaB forum who have installed this themselves. If you predominantly Boondock, just get a portable unit and use a cable lock to secure it to the pedestal.

Sharon - Westlake, Ohio | 2017 TaB CSS - Forum Administrator

• csonnicsonni Member Posts: 353

@ras said:
    Please define EMS for me. Surge protection on your shore power? or protection from EMR if you're exposed to an atomic bomb? I'm a retired electronic technician and I have no idea what you're talking about.

Maybe some things have changed since you've retired. Here you go.
    https://campaddict.com/best-rv-surge-protector/

edited November 2020

I'm now wondering if any warranty is voided on my brand new T@G by installing the EMS-HW30C

• LovelandPaulLovelandPaul Member Posts: 7

I just installed the Progressive EMS-HW30C in our new 2021 T@G XL. Here are the basic steps I used:

1. Unplug shore power & disconnect battery.