Options

Connecting a generator to use as “shore power”

Hi, and thank you all - this forum is a wealth of knowledge! I’m new to ALL of this so I’ve appreciated all of the information shared here. I have a 2021T@G-XL, picked it up a month ago. SO FUN so far! Lots of interesting puzzles to solve.... and certainly management of electrical needs is one.

I picked up an ALP 1000W generator and assumed I could simply plug it in to the trailer as “shore power” in the same manner as I connect to my house (I have a 3 prong extension cord with 15A to 30A conversion adapter) Is this correct, or do I also need to give consideration to grounding, surge protection, and/or a “transfer switch” for the generator? (I read that’s necessary for hooking a generator up to a house.) Please excuse my compete lack of knowledge in this area - if there is a better question to ask, I’d love any guidance available!

After I get that step sorted out..... I assume the battery shutoff in the tongue box should be in the “off” position when I plug the generator in to the trailer electrical port in the back? And that if I wish to use the generator to recharge the battery, that should be by a direct connection (not quite sure how to do that??)

Thank you in advance!
Amy

Comments

• Options
    WilliamAWilliamA Member Posts: 1,311