Options

Using an Inverter vs. Generator

OK. I am still learning here and would love some input on the options of use of a 2000W power inverter vs. a generator for boon docking. We are providing recharge power during the day with a 100W solar panel through a 20W controller, that works great for keeping the frig and fan going in our '17 T@G max. My thought is to run a second battery in parallel with my existing battery, turn the battery switch off and plug the inverter into the shore plug as one would do with a generator. I would like to know that we could have Air Conditioning if we are in a place without shore power and not needing to run it for more than a few minutes to cool the cabin down. I would appreciate any input anyone has if this has been done? Thanks. Peace.

Comments

• Options
    TomDTomD Member Posts: 358

An inverter generator will power the AC. Although a standard generator and an inverter generator are different in how they produce alternating current, the power provided by either one is 120v and adequate to run your AC.

Tom
    Aptos, California
    2015 LG Silver Shadow
    2012 Ford Edge Sport TV

• Options
    MjLMjL Member Posts: 14

Thanks Tom, are you speaking of electric vs. gasoline? I would like to use a Pure Sine Wave electric inverter in place of a Fuel powered "generator", for size sake.

• Options
    BBsGarageBBsGarage Member Posts: 396

Please excuse my naivety, but what would be powering the inverter?

Bill

2017 T@G Max XL, New Jersey.
    You can drive along 10,000 miles, and still stay where you are.

• Options