Generator

Here’s a question for you boondockers - anybody use a generator much? Too loud? Too much trouble? I have solar for the moderate months - it’s the winter cold months and that hot humid summer months that I need more heat or coolig than solar can provide. I not really a fan of camper ghetto’s - AKA RV park or state parks.

Comments

• WilliamAWilliamA Member Posts: 1,311
    edited January 2021

I have been hauling my generator (Generac 2300) around for a couple of years now and rarely use it. Even the quietest generator is loud when you're away from everything. There's no getting around that. I use it during the day when folks don't mind so much. Most of its time has been spent jumping other people's dead batteries in their cars and trailers. I won't jump a car as long as I have the gennie along. Too much risk to my own car. Using the d/c (8 amp) output for jumping a car is also pretty fast too. I can usually get a person going in a few minutes.

That said, I really like the peace of mind it offers both on the road and at home. We have a forced air wood furnace at home and if the power goes off during a blizzard, we can keep the blowers going and stay warm for a long time if necessary. I like to think of it as a spare tire, but with added benefits...

WilliamA

"When I am in charge, Starburst brand fruit chews will get their own food group....and where are all the freakin laser beams? There should be more laser beams..."

2021 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
    2017 T@G XL
    Boyceville, Wi.

• HellFishHellFish Member Posts: 140

Bought a Honda gen when I got the T@G in 2014. I've used the generator only twice since. It is relatively quiet, but still noisy. I feel guilty being "that guy" who ruins the outdoor experience for others because I want to run this or that. I feel the same way about outdoor TVs, stereos, lights, flags, pink flamingos, and smoky camp fires. I'm saddened at how often folks say they want the outdoor experience and then ruin it for others.