Options

The "weight" debate

WilliamAWilliamA Member Posts: 1,311

yeah.....I know....I'm just a glutton for punishment.
Disclaimer: I'm not an engineer. Never have been. I know my own way around a vehicle with a wrench in my hand. That's the only claim I've EVER made. Your results may vary.
My DW is a potter. That means a lot of different things around the supper table. Lots of discussions about art and philosophy. But for this particular discussion, it means weight in pounds. Clay is heavy and comes in 50# boxes and she uses a lot of it. She sent me off into the twin cities (mpls/st paul) last week to pick up some clay. She wanted me to get 1,300 lbs. I cut her off at 800 lbs. I told her that was the "per trip" limit.
I have a new-ish Jeep Gladiator with the 3.6 ltr gas engi e and auto trans. It's a Rubicon, hence heavier axles and bits. I don't actually know the max capacity of the bed but have read wild claims in the range of up to 1,200 lbs.
Okay. That is the basic outline of the story. I picked up the clay, had it loaded mostly in front of the rear axle in the bed and headed for home. To say it drove differently is to be disingenuous to the word "different". It was a complete beast. The back was heavy, steering was light and it was sluggish to settle in on the road. I know exactly why it was driving the way it was. The front end was comparatively lighter, the rear end was much heavier and the rear track bar was flexing like crazy trying to keep that weight centered over the axle.
I post to a lot of forums and it's common....no.... "normal" to read great advice from internet geniuses about ignoring weight ratings. Same thing for trailer frontal cross-section ratings. The easiest way to get flamed off of the Jeep forums is to post the owner's manual page about trailer frontal cross-section.