Options

Accessing Existing T@G Wiring

I'm a solar professional and I'm getting ready to pick up my new T@G XL Boondock. I'm planning on doing a major upgrade to the electrical system, not because I should necessarily, but because I can. It's going to be ridiculous, but it's a fun project for someone in my line of work. I'm planning to install a huge 48V LiPO battery and a 3000W inverter charger and then add solar both to the roof and a fold-out ground mount. Don't even ask what it's going to cost - my wife might see this post!

Anyway, I'm looking for any tips in advance on what I will need to remove to access the existing AC and DC electrical wiring, and what difficulties I might run into. I'm planning on rerouting the shore power inlet to the inverter which will be mounted where the cooler is in the galley (cooler will go in my truck). The battery, if it fits, will be in the same compartment. Then I need to get wiring back to the existing fuse/breaker panel. I prefer to not run any of this wiring under the chassis, but realize it might be the only way without ripping out cabinetry and walls in a destructive way.

Also, I'm not sure about the AC-DC 120-12V Converter location and ratings. That will be another factor. I'm thinking about removing the 12V battery altogether and just installing a small chassis mount battery for the brakes. All of the DC loads will run off the converter directly, which will take 120V from the inverter. If anyone has specs on the converter or if you have done this, please let me know.

Any of course, I will be happy to share my mods with the forum when it's all done.

Comments

• Options
    JohnnyLocoJohnnyLoco Member Posts: 198
    edited April 2021

Following as I’m doing my own version

• Options
    DaveBDaveB Member Posts: 101