Options

Winterizing the TAG Electrical System

Hi, I did a quick search for the topic but didn't see anything so I apologize if I am repeating a question. I am done winterizing my plumbing/water system on my 2021 TAG 5 Boondock. I found plenty of information online about that but virtually nothing about what to do with the electrical system before I cover it. This will be my first winter with my new trailer, I live in Denver so expect freezing weather soon. So... I assume I would do the same during winter as I would during any long period in outdoor storage. I'm a little confused though. The 2021 TAG owner's manual says to "disconnect the 120V AC power." What all does that entail? Do I just have to turn the battery disconnect switch to OFF, or do I need to actually unhook the battery, and do I need to do anything at the power distribution panel? Sorry if this is too basic but I'm still a newbie.

Comments

• Options
    Bob297Bob297 Member Posts: 148

I pull the battery out and bring into the house and put on trickle charger, if needed. If my camper was plugged in to 120vac, I disconnect first for the winter. Camper is then covered even under a carport.

• Options
    HerdHerd Member Posts: 35

The tickle charger is must for the winter.

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 633
    edited November 2021

@DancingBear - “disconnect AC power” just means to unplug it from shorepower. Store the power cord. Nothing to do in the power control/converter box.

Not assuming you know anything here, so sorry if this is unnecessary info.