Options

Bungee cords as tie-down system

LuckyJLuckyJ Member Posts: 1,240
edited December 2017 in Tips & Tricks

Hello to all

I am starting this as an information point. among all the things we need when we travel, we might need to use external space as in roof rack, tongue and roof basket, TV or trailer, wall mounted fixation system. Even inside vehicule and trailer object should be tied down, secured or isolated for security purpose. As I mentioned in an other post, I am a full time paramedic, and I do see and have to get inside vehicules in some occasion after an accident to secure a patient. And objects and debris can be a major source of injuries.

Any how, here is my point.

Bungee cords should never be used to tie down heavy items. They are not load rated (exception could be bungee cords used for bungee jumping ;) ). The hooks are also not load rated. Other point, is that they get bad real fast from sun dammage and over extension and if you are like me, it is really hard to hook them up so you get a very good tension on the object I want to secure.

An other observation, if you are looking for free bungee or rubber cord, just look on the roads you travel. Yep, we do see some strap tie-down with ratchet, but what we see in quantity are bungee and rubber cord and they are often snapped.

Bungee cord and such have their utilities. Tarp and net adusjtments, eleminate rattle of movement on bikes mounted on frame supported rack, soft bags in a basket, etc. But jerry cans, water cans, boxes, pelican casses and other similar items should be tie-down with ratchet straps witn appropriate load bearing.

A very quick search, gave me this. The fisrt one is an extract from a canadian government paper. It might be more related for truckers, but the potential danger are the same. Look at number 7.

The other is from a suplier.