Power, battery T@G 2020 Edge 5’

laurabelaurabe Member Posts: 7
edited April 2022 in Battery/Electrical & Solar

A few Qs, a newbie here: (if you could please respond with easy to understand language that would be helpful-I am learning) :-)

1. is this a good / easy idea for basically powering a small new laptop, maybe TV and lights: Plug a Jackery 880 into the shore power outlet, attach a 100 Watt solar panel to it while boondocked? I am guessing this configuration will power the 110 outlets inside.
  2. do I need more solar power?
  3. if I want to add a 12 volt Nucold30 how much more power would I need for 5 days in moderate temperature? Hot temps?
  4. re: stock 12 volt Is it better (significantly) to use 2 deep cycle 6 volts?
  5. how far do you need to drive to recharge 1000 watts? That’s the size of the Jackery. And would I just use my tow vehicle’s 12 volt port?
  6. How far do you need to drive to recharge a camper’s battery that’s at 50%?

Thanks for being an awesome forum. I know these are a lot of Qs, any help is much appreciated.

Comments

• JamesDowJamesDow Member Posts: 631
    edited April 2022

Welcome to the Forum.
    I will take a stab at answering some of your questions.
    I own a 2018 5-wide standard tag. I believe it has much the same equipment as yours does, but my 2018 came with a Norcold NRF-30 Portable Refrigerator/Freezer.
    Some of the additions I have incorporated into my unit are the following:
    ■    700/900 Watt Propane Powered Inverter Generator.
    ■    Replaced 30 Amp cord with two Heavy Duty 25 ft. Outdoor Extension Cords.
    ■    ABN 15A to 30A RV power Cord Male to Female 3-Prong Cable Adapter Electrical Converter Plug.
    ■    Electrical Adapter 30 Amp male to 15 Amp female.
    ■    OPOLAR Battery Powered Rechargeable (6,700Mah) 9 Inch Fan
    ■    Replaced the built in USB ports with Quick Charge 3.0 Charger Socket, switched with LED Voltmeter.
    ■    100Ah Smart Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery (Renogy).