Replacing battery with a power station

This may be an old question, but it is a new one to me.    I have just purchased a "Goal Zero YETI PRO 4000 Portable Power Station 3994Wh LiFePo4 Battery".  If a person wanted to replace the Tag battery with a power station, is that relatively easy to do?  I read that someone suggested instead to plug the power station into the shore power.   Is there a way to wire in a switch that in position "A" the trailer would draw from the battery and on position "B" would draw from the power station?   Could a power station rest in a metal box on the hitch or would it need to be inside the trailer?  I even thought that if the microwave were removed, that spot could be used for the power station.  Thanks for any thoughts on this.   I am not an electrician and am trying to understand the big picture.

Comments

• JamesDowJamesDow Member Posts: 655

The Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 is a nice unit. An A/B switch could be wired in without too much of a problem. I do not know your existing battery type. I would suggest a switch which is commonly found on boats to cycle through multiple batteries. Amazon sells them at a price of around $35. One side could be connected to your station 12V 6mm port or 12V auxiliary power port. 
    Resting in a metal box on the tongue hitch could be problematic due to the size of the station (21.4x13.8x14.8) and the additional weight of 115 lbs. I would design/buy a box so you can easily remove the station for flexibility. Security, environmental issues and air flow would be a concern.
    I do not know the type and year of your T@G, but possible-maybe. (A fair amount of work)  
    As for replacing a microwave for space for you PRO 4000, I think that would require a lot of design and reconstruction. I do not think it would be worth the hassle. 

I currently have a LiFePo4 battery and charge it through using my SAE solar port.