Options

Help!

I am the proud owner of a brand new T@G and can’t wait to start camping!! Can someone help me understand the battery and when I need to have it on? I will mostly be camping with electricity. Do I need to have the battery on or off when I am plugged in? In between camping trips, do I need to plug in at home to keep the battery charged? I’m new to this, so I appreciate any help in understanding how it all works!!

Comments

• Options
    Fourman110Fourman110 Member Posts: 229

I believe you need it on whenever you want to use power or charge the battery.

“I'm T@G-ing Out"
    Jay

• Options
    VernaVerna Member Posts: 139

@PaulaS, at home, you will need to charge your battery between trips. I use a Battery Tender Jr as a trickle charger to charge and keep your battery charged.

An inexpensive battery monitor that plugs into your 12V accessory plug (formerly known as a cigarette lighter plug) can help you maintain your battery’s charge. The battery should not be allowed to go below 12.2V that is considered 50% of the battery’s available charge.

• Options
    Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 517

@PaulaS said:
    I am the proud owner of a brand new T@G and can’t wait to start camping!! Can someone help me understand the battery and when I need to have it on? I will mostly be camping with electricity. Do I need to have the battery on or off when I am plugged in? In between camping trips, do I need to plug in at home to keep the battery charged? I’m new to this, so I appreciate any help in understanding how it all works!!

Paula, the trailer comes equipped with the electric converter and the converter (different than an inverter) is basically a battery charger, provides 110 volts AC power to the trailer when it's plugged into shore power and also provides 12 volts DC power to all your 12 volt accessories (e.g., LED lights, TV/DVD player, etc).