Options

My 5lb Propane Cylinder and me

I don't care to just start threads if what I mean to say would fit neatly into an ongoing one, but I can't seem to find one here that fits the bill.

I just had my 5lb cylinder filled today in preparation for my trip to Az. I had been using it for about 5 months and that included 2 trips of more than a week. It took 3/4 of a gallon of propane. At 4.2 lbs per gallon, that's about 3 and a quarter 1 lb cylinders. That sounds like I could very easily have just switched out the 20 lbs bottle to 1 lbs bottles and saved a lot of weight. As I've written before, I've found the 1lb bottles to be fine in the warm months, but a lot of my camping ends up being in cold weather where the temps get down toward single digits. I've not had good luck with 1lb bottles when it's cold as I find they don't develop nearly enough pressure and therefore, don't work well for basic cooking. While I only used 3 1/2 1lb bottles in the past 5 months, It would have meant many more than that as I couldn't use the whole bottle to empty because of the pressure. The 5lb cylinder works well for me and as I am finding out, for cooking a 5lber lasts a long time at 1/3 of the weight of a 20 lb job.
The bill for filling today came to $3.17. Even I can handle that.

WilliamA

"When I am in charge, Starburst brand fruit chews will get their own food group....and where are all the freakin laser beams? There should be more laser beams..."

2021 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
2017 T@G XL
Boyceville, Wi.

Comments

• Options
    ChaverimChaverim Member Posts: 90

You can likely get the refillable 1lb tanks to pressurize enough and then you can drop even more weight.

Mike
    Chaverim Basenjis
    -—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—
    2018 T@G Sofitel
    2016 Audi A3 e-tron

• Options
    LuckyJLuckyJ Member Posts: 1,240