Options

Need advice upgrading battery charger

Does anyone have any advice regarding upgrade of battery charger. I would like to add a three stage charger and am not sure how to install it. I am not an electrician but I follow instructions well. Do I have to disable the factory installed charger? If anyone has upgraded with a new charger where is it placed? I appreciate any advice that anyone can give. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    LuckyJLuckyJ Member Posts: 1,240

The dealer where you got the charger from should be able to help you with this.

• Options
    Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 517
    edited May 2019

@RodneyHelenchild said:
    Does anyone have any advice regarding upgrade of battery charger. I would like to add a three stage charger and am not sure how to install it. I am not an electrician but I follow instructions well. Do I have to disable the factory installed charger? If anyone has upgraded with a new charger where is it placed? I appreciate any advice that anyone can give. Thanks in advance.

Is there any particular reason you want to do this (e.g., is the battery dying or discharging quickly, etc.)? The electric converter on your trailer charges the battery when you plug the trailer in to shore power and floats the charge. If you do this a few times a month you shouldn't have any issues as it's not a good idea to keep the trailer plugged into shore power full time as it adds wear and tear to the electric converter.