Options

Bike Rack....Revisited

WilliamAWilliamA Member Posts: 1,311
edited June 2019 in Modifications & Upgrades

I did a bunch of moving bits around this spring including the traumatic (for me, anyway) removal of my roof rack. I'll not detail the pro's and con's of that here save to say that the trauma included the necessity of moving my fishing gear box and finding a different way to attach my bike seat-post clamp that I use when hauling it around. I got around to meddling with both yesterday.

This is how I've been hauling my bike around for the past 3 years or so. I've used this basic system for 2 different trailers and 2 distinctly different bicycles.

Here's the cheapo, front fork clamp that I use. I just bolted it to the top of my cargo box. When I'm not hauling my bike, I remove the axle clamp and put it back on the front tire where it came from. I've always meant to get a spare axle with hardware so I could just leave all the bits on, but that's not happened yet. It takes no more than a minute to swap the front wheel axle over from the tire to the mount. I had a different bike before my fattie and that required a different fork spacing. That previous fork mount had a dedicated through axle with a lock on it but this one is much less sophisticated. Fork spacing here is 130 mm. I should probably swap out the rusty bolts for some stainless stuff. After 2 years, I think it's safe to say that I'll keep it there. It's not often that something goes on and stays there for as long as this has. It deserves better hardware.