Options

Solar trickle charging

Hi,

Newbie here. Looking into recommendations or hardware for solar trickle charging the deep cycle battery that came in our 2018 TAG Outback. Some online are rated for different watts/amps. What is needed to preserve my battery’s life?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 517

I would look at either the Renogy or Zamp portable solar panel systems. You will also need a Zamp solar port plug adapter for your trailer. Solar isn’t cheap and you might want to factor in the type of camping you plan to do and whether or not you will camp the majority of time in campgrounds or dry camping. If you buy a portable setup I wouldn’t buy anything less than 100 watts. I own a 200 amp Zamp portable suitcase style setup but it weighs about 50 pounds. It allows me added ability to charge my batteries at a quicker rate. Look around and do some research as they do make flat panel solar panels that can be added to the roof of your trailer too. Search the forum as well as there should be discussions on this topic within.

Michigan Mike
    Linden, Mi
    2019 T@B 400

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 637

@adamds_1, is this for storage purposes or for use during camping?

Sharon - Westlake, Ohio | 2017 TaB CSS - Forum Administrator

• Options
    JamesDowJamesDow Member Posts: 632