Replace propane tank with a 1 lb bottle

ssimonsonssimonson Member Posts: 17
edited April 2020 in Modifications & Upgrades

Being from Texas and seeing no need for a 20 lb tank to operate the galley stove top. I switch the 20 lb tank to a 1 lb disposable bottle. This opens the usage options for the front storage. I have been using Quick Fist tool mounts for several years to hold my ax and shovel for overlanding with great success. I am now trying it for the 1 lb propane cylinder, using the "END OF ROAD - 20020 Super Quick Fist Clamp for mounting tools & equipment 2-1/2" - 9-1/2" diameter". My setup also requires a 1 lb propane bottle adapter to connect the bottle to the existing propane connector, works well too.

If anyone has switch to a 1 lb propane cylinder, please let me know how it has worked out for you. I have not traveled with this setup to testing it out in the field due to Covid-19 but plan to do so when we get the all-clear.

My goal is to help someone with mounting options for a 1 lb bottle and to hear your feedback on pros and cons that you may see.

PS - I am not trying to get a discussion on weather it is legal or not, good or bad to refill 1 lb bottles. (I prefer not to refill)

Comments

• Fourman110Fourman110 Member Posts: 229

I haven’t been to altitude yet but have had zero problems with my 1lb setup. Nice setup!

“I'm T@G-ing Out"
    Jay

• WilliamAWilliamA Member Posts: 1,311
    edited April 2020