Options

A few Questions: Fantastic fan, 110v to 12v

Dr_DoomDr_Doom Member Posts: 45
edited May 2020 in Modifications & Upgrades

Hello guys,

I purchased a 2020 Tag XL Boondock two weeks ago. We took it out on a quick boondocking trip last week to test it out and see how we would do on battery, what to pack, how to store things etc...

I have been searching this forum and the Facebook groups for a month or so getting ideas on what we would like to do to the trailer. Most are pretty straight forward, but there are a few I have questions on. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

My two main questions are for the electricians. I was a mechanic, I do a lot of wood working and metal fab projects... Electric is not my strong suit, I can do wiring and follow directions easily but I dont understand much of it.

1. The Fantastic Fan. even on the lowest setting it is too powerful/loud. I would like to install a PWM controller. I have found a few posts about this here and other places, but non of them mention the air reversal switch. The 2020 comes with a Fantastic Fan 1250, it has 3 speeds and the air reversal switch (no thermostat). To turn the fan off you can either put the fan speed to 0, or place the air control rocker switch to the center.

I would like to retain the factory reversal switch, but use the PWM to control just the fan speed if possible. Which PWM would I need?

PWM with switch Could I use this and splice the reversal switch wiring to the PWM board?

PWM no reversing switch Or would I only need to use this and leave the reversal wiring alone?